Room 101 – “American Woman”

For those of you who don’t know the literary reference, Room 101 is a torture chamber in the Ministry of Love where the victim is exposed to his/her worst nightmare in the book Nineteen Eighty-Four by our favorite life-of-the-party, George Orwell.  It is also the name of a British TV and radio show where celebrities discussed their pet peeves, and the host, whether Nick Hancock or Paul Merton, decided whether said abomination went down the chute into Room 101.  What is fun about the show is the arguments both sides present.  There are episodes on YouTube, in case you are interested.

I thought it might be fun if one of the three of us could bring out our own nominations, and see if we can get the other two to agree send the item down the chute.  Of course, we welcome participation from our readers!  The only constraint I would put on it would be that we can’t do easy ones, like small, yappy dogs, Justin Bieber, or small, yappy dogs that look like Justin Bieber.  We have to stretch ourselves.

So to get things started, I nominate the song, “American Woman,” by the Guess Who, later remade to sound even worse to me by Lenny Kravitz.  I admit this one was particular to me, and it involved the Canadian Air Force when I did a TDY (temporary duty assignment) in Italy.  To make a long story short, I managed to get into a debate with a Canadian airman (let’s call him Cam) about women in combat, and I basically subtly reversed Cam’s own argument by wearing him down point-by-point.  Cam’s buddies witnessed this and started to sing, “American woman, gonna mess your mind.”  It was funny at that moment, but…

They drove the joke to the ground.  I must have heard that damn song sung or played at least 15 times a day, and I am not exaggerating.  I still spew venom when I hear this song, and this was 16 years ago.

Another thing going against it is that most people take the damn song literally, and never bother to figure out that it is a song criticizing the US during the Vietnam era, and not a very good one at that.  To summarize the lyrics…

America, go away.

You are all image.

You have problems.

Fuck off.

You suck.

Fuck off again.

That is some deep stuff there.  I guess Canada is too far away from South America to score the really good drugs.

So that’s is the crux of my argument.  Any lovers of the song want to debate?